27 days, 55 matches: T20 Cricket World Cup begins on June 2

The ICC Men’s World Cup is about to begin and this time some matches will be held in the US as well. Scheduled to be held from June 2 to 29, 2024, the tournament is co-hosted by the United States of America and the West Indies.

This is the ninth edition of the marquee cricket tournament. Not only that but it is the biggest cricket tournament with 20 teams.

Here is all the information you need to know about this tournament. Here you can find information about when and where the matches are taking place, where India will play.

T20 World Cup Structure and Groups

27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

This time the T20 matches are again following the old format. Accordingly it is played in three rounds, Group stage, Super 8 and Knockout (semi-final and final).

All 20 teams are divided into 4 groups of 5 each. They will play against each other in round robin format. Two teams from four groups will advance to the Super 8 round.

Group A: Canada, India, Ireland, Pakistan, USA

Group B: Australia, England, Namibia, Oman, Scotland

Group C: Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Uganda, West Indies

Group D: Bangladesh, Nepal, Netherlands, South Africa, Sri Lanka

When, where and how to watch the World Cup?

1716979167 512 27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

The first stage of the Men’s T20 World Cup, the Group Stage, will begin on June 1 and run until June 18.

In the second phase, the ‘Super 8’ tournament will be held from June 19 to 25. The semi-finals will be held on 27th and the final on 29th June.

As the matches are held in different countries around the world, some matches are held in the local time in the morning and some in the evening. So the fans of the respective teams can watch the matches and get excited.

India’s first match starts at 7:30 pm IST and the other three matches at 8 pm IST. It has already been decided that India will play in the second match if they advance to the semi-finals.

Disney Star holds the official media rights for the competition and information about the competition will be provided on the BCC website from time to time.

Schedule of matches

A total of 55 matches will be played in the ICC Men’s T20. The schedule of the tournament is as follows

1716979168 466 27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

In which stadiums are the matches held?

1716979169 817 27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

The matches are held at 6 stadiums in various countries in the West Indies and 3 stadiums in the United States.

All of India’s ‘group stage’ matches are held in the US. Three matches are played at the Nassau County Stadium in New York and one at Central Broward Park in Lauderhill, Florida.

Nassau County Stadium is located on Long Island, New York. The stadium, specially built for the T20 tournament, has temporary seating and pitches brought in from Australia.

The semi-finals will feature one match at the Brian Stadium in Trinidad and the other at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The final will be played at the historic Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

2024 Men’s T20 World Cup Venues

Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua & Barbuda.
Kensington Oval Stadium in Bridgetown, Barbados.
Providence Stadium in Providence, Guyana.
Darren Sammy Stadium near Gros Islet, St. Lucia.
Arnos Vale Stadium in Kingstown, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Brian Lara Cricket Stadium in San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Lauderhill Central Broward Park Stadium in Florida, USA
Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas-Texas, USA.
Nassau County International Arena, Long Island – New York, USA

What are the rules for T20 World Cup matches?

For the first time, a ‘stop-clock’ will be used in a T20 match. The bowling team must be ready to bowl the next over within 60 seconds of the completion of the previous over.

Each match shall be completed in 3 hours and 10 minutes, (one hour and 25 minutes for each innings with a 20 minute interval).

The first six overs of the innings will be a power play with different fielding restrictions. Each team will get two reviews.

If the match is tied, the Super Over will decide the winner. That means each team will face six balls. If the Super Over ends in a tie, the Super Overs continue until a winner is determined.

What happens if it rains?

1716979169 826 27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

In the event of a rain interruption in the middle of the match, the DLS (Duckworth-Lewis-Stern, DLS) method will be used to decide the results.

But for DLS to come into effect, each team must have played at least 5 overs in Group/Super 8 stage or 10 overs in Knockout stage.

The first semi-final will have a reserve day and the final will also have a reserve day. However, only an additional 250 minutes will be allowed to complete the second semi-final match.

Who will host the next T20 edition?

1716979171 158 27 days 55 matches T20 Cricket World Cup begins on

The Men’s T20 World Cup has continued to be played apart from the Covid-19 hiatus. T20 viewership is increasing every year. The T20 World Cup will be held after two years, BCC said.

India and Sri Lanka will co-host the next edition of the tournament in 2026. The 2028 edition will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Historic achievements in T20 World Cups

Most runs: Virat Kohli (India) 1,141 runs in 27 matches
Most runs in a match: Virat Kohli (India) 319 runs in 2014
Highest Individual Score: New Zealander Brendon McCullum scored 123 against Bangladesh in 2012.
Most Centuries: Chris Gayle (Isle of May) scored two centuries in 2007 and 2016
Most wickets: Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) 47 wickets in 36 matches
Most wickets in a single match: Vanindu Hazaranga (Sri Lanka) 16 wickets in 2021 edition
Best bowler: Ajanta Mendis (Sri Lanka) 6 for 8 against Zimbabwe in 2012.
Most ‘Dismissals’ (Wicket Keeper): MS Dhoni (India) – 32 wickets in 33 matches
Most Catches (Fielder): AB de Villiers (South Africa) – 23 catches in 30 matches
Highest Score: Sri Lanka vs Kenya – 260/6 in 2007
Lowest Score: Netherlands vs Sri Lanka – 39 (all out) in 2014

When will the Women’s T20 World Cup be held?

Last year in 2016 both the men’s and women’s events were played simultaneously. But this year, the Women’s T20 World Cup will be held as a separate tournament.

It will be held in October 2024 in Bangladesh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here